betterME Day 22 : The Best Laid Plans…

The challenge before me was to do something spontaneous.

Once we believe in ourselves, we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight, or any experience that reveals the human spirit. — E.E. Cummings

“Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them; that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.”  — Lao Tzu

Those of you that know me know that isn’t exactly my forte.  I like a plan.  I like to know what’s going on.  I like to know times, dates, and places.  I like to have backup plans. LOL  I start planning dinner before lunch. LOL  I even look online at the menu to start thinking about what I want to eat.

So today I tried to let go of that as much as possible.  For lunch I told my client just to take me somewhere.  I let the cashier suggest something for me and went with it (she suggested a chicken flatbread pizza that was amazing).

I had some spare time so when I got to the hotel I decided to go explore the University of Florida campus.  I ended up at the football stadium.  As I was walking around I saw a group of about 10 people stretching, they saw I was watching, and told me they were about to do stadium steps.  If you don’t know what that is, it’s kind of what it sounds like : down an aisle of steps, over, up an aisle of steps, over, down, etc.  So I decided to join in.  That’s about as spontaneous as it gets for me.  I wasn’t dressed for it (and by the way it was about 97 degrees).  I could only do about 20 mins worth but it was kinda fun and it was a great workout – if you want a leg workout run stadium steps.  Afterwards my legs were quite wobbly.  Keep in mind I’d already run 3.5 miles this morning.

I came back to the hotel, showered, and went to the north campus and just found a place that looked busy – you know what they say – a good crowd means good food.  I narrowed my menu choices to 3 items and let my waitress pick the top choice.  I also let her pick my drink.

So for most of the day, I was operating without a plan.  Not uber spontaneous, but very much so by my standards and a variation from my norm.  All in all it was a nice, relaxing day and I enjoyed all of it.

Tomorrow the task of the day : stop a bad habit. HaHa – wow, which one to pick.

So I’m three weeks into betterME.  Im still out of town for work so I will do a recap tomorrow.  For now, get up, get out, and go something you’ve wanted to do, spontaneously.

I still welcome your thoughts, comments, suggestions, and words of wisdom.  Of course you’re free to challenge to break out of my “need” for plans and get me to break out and do something random.

One Response to “betterME Day 22 : The Best Laid Plans…”

  1. I applaud. 🙂

Leave a Reply

